Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

2008 General Election
Brazoria County covered elections in Brazoria, Galveston, Harris and Jefferson Counties.  
Report corrections, additions and/or clarifications to
Brazoria County Bond Election - Final

Proposition One: ($75 million for fairgrounds, including Arena)

For:  30,997

Against:  53,023


Proposition Two: ($50 million for fairgrounds)

For:  35,630 

Against:  48,088 


Special Issues - Final   


The legal sale of beer and wine for off-premises consumption only:

For:  1,191

Against: 702 


The legal sale of mixed beverages in restaurants by food and beverage certificate holders only:

For:  1,227 

Against:  669


The legal sale of beer:

For:  1,143 

Against:  763  


Damon Indpendent School District - Final


Rollback Tax Election: (To allow an increase in property taxes from $1.04 to $1.17 per $100)

For:  147 

Against:  146 


Damon ISD Board of Trustees: (Four Positions)
Angelia Cuellar:  139

Lorrin Batchelor:  171 Winner

Angela Morris:  202  Winner

Thomas Hoelewyn:  211 Winner
Hugh V. Ferguson, III: 169 Winner 


County Offices - Final    



Charles Wagner (Rep.):  63,590 Winner

Robert Pruett (Dem.):  37,386 


Tax Assessor-Collector:

Ro'Vin Garrett (Rep.):  67,136 Winner 

Kay Mudd (Dem.):  34,541


Justice of the Peace, Pct. 1, Pl. 1:

Justin M. Thomson (Rep.): 9,173 Winner 

Bobby G. Smith (Dem.):  8,006


Justice of the Peace, Pct. 4, Pl. 1:

Sharon Fox (Rep.):  18,592 Winner 

E.L. Selby (Dem.):  9,976


Constable, Pct. 1:

Robert Robin Rape (Rep.): 10,118 Winner 

Cheri Pate (Dem.):  7,351


Conservation and Reclamation District 3, Pos. 2:

Ricky Kubeczka (Rep.):  9,718 Winner 

Dick Tyson (Dem.):  3,785 


Regional, Statewide and National Races - Final    


Railroad Commissioner:

Michael L. Williams (Rep.):  58,685

Mark Thompson (Dem.):  37,239

David Floyd (Lib.):  3,487


Chief Justice, Supreme Court:

Wallace B. Jefferson (Rep.):  60,781 

Jim Jordan (Dem.):  36,279

Tom Oxford (Lib.):  3,094


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 7:

Dale Wainwright (Rep.):  58,303

Sam Houston (Dem.):  38,401

David G. Smith (Lib.):  3,259


Justice, Supreme Court, Place 8:

Phil Johnson (Rep.):  59,134

Linda Reyna Yanez (Dem.): 37,665 

Drew Shirley (Lib.):  3,011


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 3:

Tom Price (Rep.):  58,887 

Susan Strawn (Dem.):  37,741

Matthew E. Eilers (Lib.):  2,902 


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 4:

Paul Womack (Rep.):  60,676 

J.R. Molina (Dem.):  35,547 

Dave Howard (Lib.):  3,172


Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place 9:

Cathy Cochran (Rep.):  67,578 

William Bryan Strange, III (Lib.):  11,544


Member, State Board of Education, District 7:

David Bradley (Rep.):  46,394 

Laura Ewing (Dem.):  33,294

Richard R. Johnson (Lib.):  2,814 


State Senator, District 11:

Mike Jackson (Rep.):  42,535 

Joe Jaworski (Dem.):  29,421 

Cliff Messina (Lib.):  1,871 


State Representative, District 25:

Dennis Bonnen (Rep.):  33,374 

Richard Cole (Dem.):  5,453 


State Representative, District 29:

Randy Weber (Rep.):  33,609 

Kevin M. Murphy (Dem.):  21,452 


Chief Justice, 14th Court of Appeals:

Adele Hedges (Rep.):  60,633 

Joe W. Beverly (Dem.):  37,716 


Justice, 1st Court of Appeals District, Place 3:

Ed Hubbard (Rep.):  59,096 

Jim Sharp (Dem.):  39,714 


Justice, 1st court of Appeals District, Place 5:

Laura Carter Higley (Rep.):  61,263 

Leslie C. Taylor (Dem.):  36,956


Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 4 (Unexpired Term):

Jeff Brown (Rep.):  61,770 

Bert Moser (Dem.):  36,154 


Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 6 (Unexpired Term):

Bill Boyce (Rep.):  60,789 

Mary M. Markantonis (Dem.): 37,149 


Justice, 14th Court of Appeals District, Place 7:

Kem Thompson Frost (Rep.):  60,583 

Martin J. Siegel (Dem.):  37,265 


State Senator, District 17:

Grant Harpold (Rep.):  2,086 

Stephanie E. Simmons (Dem.):  2,569

Chris Bell (Dem.):  5,654

Ken Sherman (Rep.):  1,544 

Joan Huffman (Rep.):  7,755 

Austen Furse (Rep.):  1,599 


President/Vice President:

John McCain/Sarah Palin (Rep.):   67,444

Barack Obama/Joe Biden (Dem.):  36,461 

Bob Barr/Wayne A. Root (Lib.):  726


United States Senator:

John Cornyn (Rep.):  63,277 

Richard J. (Rick) Noriega (Dem.): 36,972 

Yvonne Adams Schick (Lib.):  2,632 


United States Represenative, District 22:

Pete Olson (Rep.):  21,766

Nick Lampson (Dem.):  17,776 

John Wieder (Lib.):  954 

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4432, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.