Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer May 5, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
November Elections
by Garrett Bryce
Thursday, September 03, 2009

The deadline for candidates to file for election in November 3 races passed on Wednesday afternoon, with several candidates filing for races in Galveston Independent School District and Houston City Council.

At Galveston Independent School District, nine candidates filed for election to three positions that will be on the ballot in November.

In District 4-D, incumbent Carol Greaney Wurst has filed for re-election. John Ford, Jr. and Miguel Aleman have also filed to run for the office.

In District 1-A, incumbent Kelly Chambers has filed for re-election. She will face Shelia Lee, Heidi Lutz and Derek Anderson in a contest for the position.

In District 3-C, incumbent Weez Doherty did not file for re-election. Phillip Lipnick and Norman Pappous have filed for the position.

In Houston, the mayoral race drew seven candidates, including current Houston City Controller Annise Parker and At-Large Position 1 Council Member Peter Brown. Other candidates that have filed are Gene Locke, Charles Daniel Cupp, Roy Morales, Luis Ullrich and Amanda Ulman.

Seven candidates have filed for election in City Council District A, which is currently held by Toni Lawrence. Candidates listied as having filed are Jeff Downing, Lane Lewis, Amy Peck, Darrell Rodriguez, Bob Schoellkopf, Brenda Stardig, and Alex Wathen.

Incumbent Jarvis Johnson has filed for re-election in District B, and will face opposition from Roger Bowden.

District C incumbent Anne Clutterbuck has also filed for re-election, and faces one challenger in Randolph Locke.

District D incumbent Wanda Adams has filed for re-election, and will face two challengers, Otis Jordan and Larry McKinzie.

District E incumbent Mike Sullivan will compete against Phillip Wayne Garrison, II for re-election to his seat.

District F, currently held by M.J. Khan, drew seven candidates before Wednesday's filing deadline. Peter Acquaro, Joe Chow, Lewis Cook, Al Hoang, Robert Kane, Khalid Khan and Mike Laster will compete for the council seat.

District G, currently held by Pam Holm, drew five candidates. Dexter Handy, George Foulard, Oliver Pennington, Richard Sedita and Mills Worsham will compete for the council seat.

Districts H and I incumbents Edward Gonzalez and James Rodriguez, respectively, are unopposed for re-election to their seats.

In At-Large Position 1, Lonnie Allsbrooks, Brad J. Batteau, Stephen Costello, Karen Derr, Herman Litt, Kenneth Perkins and Rick Rodriguez have filed for election. Incumbent Peter Brown has filed to run for mayor.

At-Large Position 2 incumbent Sue Lovell will compete against Andrew C. Bucks, Jr., Michael Griffin and Roslyn "Rozzy" Shorter for re-election.

Melissa Noriega, incumbent for At-Large Position 3, is unopposed for re-election.

At-Large Position 4, currently held by Ronald Green, drew three candidates. C.O. Bradford, Noel Freeman and Curtis W. Garmon will compete for the council seat.

At-Large Position 5 incumbent Jolanda "Jo" Jones will compete against Jack Christie, Davetta Daniels and Carlos Obando for re-election.

The Houston City Controller's race drew three candidates, all currently city council members. Ronald Green of At-Large Position 4, Pam Holm of District G and M.J. Khan of District F will compete for the position.

Other elections include three bond propositions for a total of $8.9 million by the City of Santa Fe. Propositions include $5 million for a new police station, $3 million for a library expansion project and $900,000 for a new public works building. 

Alvin Independent School District also called for a bond issue election in November. The election will include a single proposition for $70.095 million.

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.