Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer March 6, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
Primary Elections Early Voting
by Garrett Bryce
Monday, February 15, 2010

Early voting for the March 2 Republican and Democratic Primary Elections begins on Tuesday.

In Harris County, Democratic Party candidates Gordon Quan and Ahmad Hassan will compete for their party's nomination in the race to challenge incumbent County Judge Ed Emmett in November. Emmett is unopposed on the Republican ballot for the race.

Republican Party candidates Dorothy Olmos and Jack Morman will compete for nomination to the Harris County Commissioner Precinct 2 race.  The winner will challenge incumbent Sylvia Garcia.  Garcia is unopposed in the Democratic Primary.

The race for Harris County Clerk has competition in both parties.  For the Democratic Party, Sue Smith Shechter and Ann Harris Bennett are competing for nomination.  On the Republican side, Stan Stanart and Kevin Mauzy are competing to be placed on November's general election ballot.

In the race for District Clerk, Paul Dwight and Chris Daniel have filed under the Republican ticket.  The winner will face incumbent Loren Jackson in November.  Jackson is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

In the race for County Tax Assessor-Collector, Leo Vasquez will vie against Don Sumners for the Republican Party nomination.  The winner will face Diane Trautman in November.  Trautman is unopposed on the Democratic ticket.

In Galveston County, Douglas Godinich and Brandy Chapman will compete for the County Clerk nomination under the Democratic ticket.  Republican Dwight Sullivan is unopposed for his party's nomination to County Clerk, and will face either Godinich or Champman in November.  County Court Judge No. 2 on the Democratic ticket will be a race between Steve Baker and Suzanne Schwab Radcliffe.  Republican Barbara Roberts is unopposed for her party's nomination.

Republican Party candidates Kevin O'Brien and Joe Giusti will compete for nomination in the race for County Commissioner Precinct 2.  The winner will challenge incumbent Bryan Lamb, who is running unopposed on the Democratic ticket, in November.

Republicans Jason Murry and Tina Longcoy will vie for nomination in the race for District Clerk.  The winner will challenge Democratic Party incumbent Latonia Wilson, who is unopposed in the primary.

In Brazoria County, the most contested seat is for the 149th District Court, with candidates competing for nomination in both parties.  For the Democratic Party, Faye Gordon and Peggy Sue Bittick are competing for the bench.  Terri Tipton Holder, Perry Stevens and Trey Picard are seeking Republican nomination for the position.

Other contested races in Brazoria County fall along the Republican Party ticket.  Horace Lynn Buchanan and L.L. Larry Stanley are competing for the Commissioner Precinct 4 nomination.  The winner will face incumbent Mary Ruth Rhodenbaugh, who is unchallenged in the Democratic Primary for her seat, in November.  Rhonda Cross Barchack and Nate Moore will compete for the Republican nomination for District Clerk.  No candidates filed for the position on the Democratic ticket.

Brazoria County Court at Law No. 3 Judge Jeremy Warren will face challenge for re-nomination from Jerome Aldrich in the Republican ticket.  The winner of the nomination will face Democratic Party challenger Dora Bonner in November.  Justice of the Peace, Precinct 1, Place 2 has three candidates on the Republican ticket, with incumbent Milan Miller, Jon B. Quick and Justin Mills competing for the nomination.  Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, Place 2 also has three candidates, who are Mel Burridge, Richard B. Davis and Alex Torres. The winner will face Democratic challenger Ken Walters in November.

In Jefferson County, four candidates have filed on the Democratic ticket for County Clerk.  Candidates include incumbent Carolyn Guidry, Rhonda Dugas, Jim Ferrell and Derwin Seals.  Democratic Party incumbents in Commissioner Precincts 2 and 4 each face challengers.  Mark Domingue faces Brent Weaver for the Democratic nomination in Precinct 2.  In Precinct 4, Everette Dwain "Bo" Alfred will compete against Jamie Smith for his re-election.  Neither precinct has candidates on the Republican ticket. For County Treasurer, Georgine Guillory and Charles Keith Hawkes will compete under the Democratic Party ticket.  The winner will face Republican challenger Jim Funchess, who is unopposed in the Republican primary, in November.

For more countywide races, including links to sample ballots including state and federal primary elections as well as Libertarian Party candidates, visit the election page. 
Click Here

HomeTown Bank Carolyn Sunseri for Council District 5
Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.