Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
May 8 General Election Filing Deadline
News Release
Monday, March 08, 2010

Filing for the May 8 General Election ends at 5 p.m. today for elected offices at several cities, school districts and colleges in Brazoria, Galveston, Harris and Jefferson counties.  The information below was current at publication time.

In Brazoria County, Pearland has one of the most contested races, with three candidates competing for Position 5 on the city council. Currently, Ed Thompson, George "Skip" Shelton and Tammy Dexter have filed for the race.  The position is currently held by Kevin Cole, who is term limited.  Incumbent City Council Member Woody Owens is currently filed as unopposed for the Position 1 seat on Pearland City Council.

The City of Alvin has three city council seats on the ballot.  Terry Droege and Ramiro Mondragon are currently the candidates filed for the At-Large No. 2 seat.  Eddie Murray, the incumbent, has not filed.  Juan Sifuentes and Kent Villareal have filed for the District A seat, which is currently held by Kerry Collins-Leggett.  Roger Stuksa has filed for re-election to District D.

The Alvin Community College Board of Regents has three positions on the ballot.  Position 7, Position 8 and Position 9 are currently held by L.H. "Pete" Nash, Mac Barrow and Karlis Ercums, III, respectively.

In Galveston County, the Galveston mayoral election has drawn five candidates to date.  Joe Jaworski, Betty Massey, William Quiroga, Greg Roof and Danny Weber will compete for the position, which is held by Lyda Ann Thomas, who is term limited.  Many of the city council seats have also drawn multiple candidates, so far.

(The Galveston City Council information has been updated after the filing deadline)

Incumbent Tarris Woods, David Galindo, Rusty Legg and Ronnie Maceo have filed for District 1.  Incumbent Linda Colbert, Angela Brown, James Evan Dallas and Brenda Lee have filed for District 2. 
Elizabeth Beeton has filed for re-election to District 3, and faces challengers Juan Peña and Sheryl Rozier.  Susan Fennewald has filed for re-election to District 4, and has one challenger, Charles Gonzales.
Steve Greenberg and Jim Rothgeb have filed for District 5, which is currently held by mayoral candidate Danny Weber.  Dianna Puccetti and Chula Sanchez have filed for District 6, which is currently held by Karen Mahoney.

In Clear Lake Shores, four candidates have filed to date for three city council positions, which are all elected at-large.  Brian Hanby, Richard Sowrey, Jackie Fuller and Allan Batchelor will compete for seats currently held by Bryan Hoerner, Susan Landwer and Charles Scoville, who have not filed, to date.  The city has also placed bond referendum on the ballot for the issuance of $900,000 in sales tax revenue bonds for the Town Center Project. 

The City of Santa Fe will also propose a bond referendum on its ballot.  The city is seeking voter support to issue $4.82 million in bonds for the construction of a police station.  To date, incumbents Joe Carothers, Ronald "Bubba" Jannett and Pat McCrary have filed for re-election to Place 1, Place 4 and Place 5 on the city council, respectively.

In the City of League City, Tim Paulissen is currently unopposed for re-election to Position 6 on the city council.  Joanna Sharp Dawson, Tim Holloway and Tommy Garland have filed for Position 7, which is currently held by Jim Nelson.  The city will also have several proposed charter amendments on the ballot.

In Harris County, the City of La Porte will hold an election for the re-authorization of the use of a one-fourth percent sales tax for maintenance and repair of city streets.  City Council At-Large Position A in La Porte is currently unopposed, with John P. Zemanek, Jr. the only candidate.  David Janda, Jr., who was defeated by Zemanek in a special election run-off in February, withdrew his name from the ballot.  Zemanek currently is serving in the seat to fill the unexpired term of Georgia Malone.  Incumbent Tommy Moser and Charles "Heavyfed" Gilliam have filed for District 4, and incumbent Louis Rigby and Abraham Rosa have filed for District 5.

The City of Seabrook has no offices on the ballot this year, but will hold an election for several amendments to the city charter as well as for the continuation of the city's Crime District.

In Jefferson County, Port Arthur has drawn four candidates in its mayoral election.  Incumbent Deloris "Bobbie" Prince has filed for re-election.  Former mayor Oscar G. Ortiz, Lowra Reado and Willie "Bae" Lewis, Jr. have also filed, to date.

Candidate filing ends at 5 p.m. today. The list will be updated after the filing deadline.  For a complete listing, including additional city, school and college races, please visit the Guidry News Service Election Page.  Click Here

Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.