Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer May 5, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
April 13 Primary Run-Off Election
by Garrett Bryce
Wednesday, April 14, 2010

Ballots were cast in the Primary Election Run-Off for the Democratic and Republican parties on Tuesday, with party nominations finalized in various races throughout the Gulf Coast area.

In Brazoria County, run-off elections for the Democratic Party included a race for the nomination for United States Representative District 14 between Robert Pruett and Winston Cochran. 

Pruett won the run-off with 1,337 votes to Cohran's 1,231 votes.  Pruett will face incumbent Republican Ron Paul in November.

Republicans statewide, including each county, voted in the race for Texas Supreme Court Place 3.  Debra Lehrmann defeated Rick Green for the nomination, with Lehrmann receiving 172,813 votes to Green's 160,572 votes.

For the Republican Party in Brazoria County, Richard B. Davis defeated Mel Burridge for the party's nomination for Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2, Place 2.  Davis received 1,033 votes while Burridge received 991. 

Harrison Rogers defeated Rick King in the race for the Brazoria County Drainage District No. 4, Place 3 seat.  Rogers received 711 votes to King's 682.

Glenn DuPont defeated James Benge by a single vote for the Republican Precinct 54 Chair seat.  DuPont received 18 votes, while Benge received 17.

In Galveston County, the Democratic Party also voted on the United States Representative District 14 seat between Pruett and Cochran.  Richard Batie defeated Brenda Womack for the Democratic Precinct 108 Chair seat.  Batie received 20 votes while Womack received 9.

Galveston County Republican Party voters cast their ballot in a single race, which was the Texas Supreme Court Place 3 seat race between Green and Lehrmann. 

In Harris County, the Democratic Party will vote on nominations in for several judicial districts. 

In the 234th Judicial District race, Tanner Garth defeated Jim Peacock by 10,779 votes to 3,439 votes.

In the 270th Judicial District race, Bob Thomas defeated Lee Arellano by 8,161 votes to 6,012 votes.

In the 308th Judicial District Family District Judge race, Bruce Kessler defeated Julia Maldonado by 8,366 votes to 5,962 votes.

In the 311th Judicial District Family District Judge race, Deborah Wright defeated Brad Morris by 8,448 votes to 5,845 votes. 

The Democratic nomination for Justice of the Peace for Precinct 3, Place 2 was also on the ballot.  Don Coffey defeated Denise Graves in that race.  Coffey received 2,126 votes while Graves received 554 votes.

For the Harris County Republican Party, voters cast their ballots in the run-off election for two judicial district positions. 

In the 108th Judicial District, Marc Brown defeated Danny Dexter.  Brown received 20,505 votes, while Dexter received 19,687.

In the 308th Judicial District Family District Judge race, James Lombardino defeated Alice J. O'Neill.  Lambardino received 25,931 votes, while O'Neill received 13,967. 

The Republican nomination for Justice of the Peace Precinct 5, Place 2 was also on the ballot. Jeff Williams defeated George Huntoon for the party nomination in that race.  Williams received 8,410 votes, while Huntoon received 5,686.

Jared Woodfill defeated Ed Hubbard in the race for Harris County Republican Party Chair.  Woodfill received 25,468 votes to Hubbard's 15,179 votes.

Other races on the Harris County Republican Party ticket included State Representative District 127 between Dan Huberty and Susan Curling; and District 149 between Dianne Williams and Jack O'Connor. 

In Jefferson County, the Democratic Party voted on the Justice of the Peace Precinct 1, Place 2 seat.  Anne Bradley defeated Benjamin "Ben" Collins, Sr. in the race.  Bradley received 730 votes to Collins' 325.  In Precinct 26, Tawana Cadien defeated Mary E. Kirkwood for Democratic Precinct Chair.  Cadien received 49 votes and Kirkwood received 8 votes.

For the Republican Party in Jefferson County, voters cast their ballot only in the Texas Supreme Court Justice Place 3 race between Green and Lehrmann.

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.