Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
May 8 General Election
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, May 04, 2010

Early voting ends today for the May 8 General Election, with several contested races in cities and school districts in Brazoria, Galveston, Harris and Jefferson counties on the ballot.

In Brazoria County, the City of Alvin has two city council races on the ballot.  Juan Sifuentes and Kent Villareal are competing for the District A seat, while Terry Droege and Ramiro Mondragon will vie for the At Large No. 2 position.

Alvin Community College has one contested race on the ballot.  Incumbent Mac Barrow will contend with Michael "Drab" Green and Jim Sudela for Position 8 on the college's Board of Regents.

The City of Pearland also has a single contested race, which is for Position 5 on the city council.  Ed Thompson, George "Skip" Shelton and Tammy Dexter will be on the ballot.  Incumbent Kevin Cole is not seeking re-election due to term limits.

In Galveston County, the City of Galveston has several contested races in its mayoral and city council elections.  Joe Jaworski, Betty Massey, William Quiroga, Danny Weber and Greg Roof will appear on the ballot.  Roof has announced that he is no longer seeking election to the position, though his name will be on the ballot.  Incumbent Mayor Lyda Ann Thomas has reached her term limits and is not eligible for re-election.

In District 1, incumbent Tarris Woods will contend with David Galindo, Rusty Legg, Fred Thomas and Ronnie Maceo.  Maceo has announced that he is no longer actively seeking election.

In District 2, incumbent Linda Colbert, Angela Brown, Brenda Lee and James Evan Dallas will be on the ballot.  Dallas has announced that he is no longer campaigning for the position.

In District 3, incumbent Elizabeth Beeton will face challengers Juan Miguel Peña and Sheryl Rozier for election to the seat.

Incumbent Susan Fennewald and Charles "Chris" Gonzales are competing for the District 4 seat.

Steve Greenberg and Jim Rothgeb are campaigning for election to District 5 on Galveston City Council.  Mayoral candidate Danny Weber currently holds the position.

Candidates on the District 6 ballot are Dianna Puccetti and Chula Sanchez.  Karen Mahoney, who currently holds the seat, did not seek re-election.

Also on the island, Galveston Independent School District is holding an election for voters to decide on a $35 million bond referendum for the construction of a new multi-purpose sports stadium.

Elsewhere in Galveston County, Bayou Vista will hold an election for re-authorization of a one-quarter percent sales tax for road maintenance.

Clear Creek Independent School District has one contested race on its school board of trustees.  Incumbent Lela Ann Hammond, Star Faith Lazarow and Robert Colton Shultz will content for the At-Large B position.

Clear Lake Shores is holding an election for three at-large positions on its city council.  Candidates for the positions are Brian Hanby, Richard Sowrey, Jackie Fuller, Allan Batchelor, Patrick Michaelski, Tami Perkins and Jim Mago.  Clear Lake Shores will also have two propositions on its ballot.  Voters on Proposition 1 will determine whether the city can use previously approved sales and use tax revenues in the construction of the town center project.  Proposition 2 is for authorization to issue $900,000 in Clear Lake Shores Economic Development Bonds to finance the town center project.

Dickinson will have one contested city council race.  Incumbent Mary Dunbaugh and Dawn King will vie for Position 5 on the city council.

Dickinson Independent School District has three races on the ballot.  Incumbent Patty Halter and Bruce Moore will contend for District 5 on the board of trustees.  Incumbent J.T. Floyd will compete with Alan Marsh for District 6, and incumbent Linda Butler faces challenger Antoinette "Toni" Vitanza for District 7.

Friendswood's city council has two seats on the ballot.  Candidates Kevin Holland, Dr. Pat McGinnis and Billy Enochs are competing for Position 4.  Incumbent Andy Rivera is campaigning against challengers Dierdre Carey Brown and Jeff Moser for Position 6.

Galveston Municipal Utility District No. 12 has a single contested race.  Incumbent Gwen Megale will face challenger Keith Herzogenrath for Position 2 on the district's board of directors.

Hitchcock City Commission Position 4 will be on the ballot in Hitchcock.  Voters will decide between incumbent Henry Coger, Frank Lopez and Jeffrey Wooten.  Coger has suspended his campaign for re-election.

Hitchcock Independent School District has two positions on the ballot.  In District 1, incumbent Estelle Holmes will face challenger Rochelle Kaye Randle.  Incumbent Shirley Price will vie with Hayley C. Winkelmann for the District 2 seat.

Jamaica Beach City Council will have a race for three at-large aldermen positions.  Candidates are incumbents Eddie Burke and Sherwood "Woody" Green, James Rankin and Gene Montgomery.

In Kemah, incumbent Robin Collins and Janny Looper will compete for Position 3 on the city council.  Melissa Beach and Breton L. Spry will compete for Position 5.

League City will hold an election for Position 7 on the city council.  Joanna Sharp Dawson, Tim Holloway, Tommy Garland and Chris Stevens will be on the ballot.  Stevens had announced that he would not seek election to the position after the deadline to withdraw from the ballot.  League City voters will also cast their ballots on 19 charter amendment propositions.  Proposition Language

Santa Fe will hold a bond referendum for the issue of $4.82 million in order to build a new police station.

Santa Fe Independent School District has a single contested race.  Incumbent Rusty Norman will face challenger Sheryl Skufca for Position 5 on the school board of trustees.

Texas City Independent School District also has a single contested race, with Kyle Dickson and Bryan Thompson competing for the District 4 seat on the school board.

In Harris County, the City of La Porte will hold elections for two positions on its city council.  Tommy Moser is seeking re-election to District 4 and faces challenger Charles "Heavyfed" Gilliam.  Louis Rigby will also seek re-election to District 5 against challenger Abraham Rosa.  La Porte voters will also cast votes on the re-authorization of a one-fourth percent sales tax for maintenance and repair of municipal streets.

Nassau Bay will have an election for mayor and Position 6 on city council.  Incumbent Mayor Donald Matter will face challenger Jennifer Rice.  Bob Waters and John Nugent will compete for Position 6.

Seabrook will hold an election to authorize the continuation of a crime district, as well 40 ballot amendment propositions.  Proposition Language

Shoreacres City Council will hold an election for a single position on its city council.  Incumbent Gerry Victor will contend with Nancy Janosky Schnell for the seat.

In Taylor Lake Village, Douglas W. Shows and MG Spanial will vie for Position 1 on the city council.  Laural Stout and Alan R. Koelemay will compete for Position 5.

In Jefferson County, Port Arthur voters will cast their ballots for mayor.  Incumbent Deloris "Bobbie" Prince faces challengers Oscar G. Ortiz, Lowra A. Reado and Willie "Bae" Lewis, Jr.

Polls open on Saturday at 7 a.m. and close at 7 p.m.

Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.