Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Friendswood Independent School District
Board of Trustees
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, October 12, 2010

The Friendswood Independent School District Board of Trustees on Monday voted unanimously to approve a resolution authorizing the Brazoria County Appraisal District to purchase the Snow Building in Angleton for use as the appraisal district's offices.

"The district has occupied the first and second floors of the building for more than 27 years," Chief Appraiser Cheryl Evans said.

Taxing jurisdictions with property within the appraisal district must authorize the district to move forward with the purchase of property.

The school board voted to approve an amendment to the 2010-2011 budget. 

The school board voted to schedule a public hearing for October 25 regarding the Financial Integrity Rating State of Texas.  The hearing is schedule for 7 p.m.

The school board voted to schedule a special meeting for November 15 to administer oaths of office to newly-elected trustees and elect new board officers.   

Trustee Robert McCabe, who serves in Position 5, was unopposed for re-election to his seat.  Ralph Hobratschk filed and is unopposed for Position 6, currently held by Brandon Burris, and David Montz filed and is unopposed for election to Position 7, currently held by Denise Ruiz.  Therefore, the elections for the three positions are cancelled and the members will start their new terms following the November 2 election.

The school board voted to approve the School Health Advisory Council report and appoint members to the School Health Advisory Council committee.

Appointed to the committee were Jamy Bell, Michelle Hunt, Judy Shetler, Bonnalee Howard, Dawn McHenry, Celeste Romell, Wendy Slaton, Nancy Glaze, Christopher Glaze, Paula Jones, Barbara Steinhauser, Kristi Robertson, Tyson Robertson, Kurt Westoff, Sharon Gaspard, Max Crowell, Cristina Holt, Donna Brezina, Debbie Stock, Samantha Genzer, Ginger Hartman, Myrlene Kennedy and Joseph Fitzgerald.

All items were approved.  All votes were unanimous with Denise Ruiz and Robert McCabe absent.  Agenda

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.