Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Texas A&M University at Galveston
TAMUG honors 158 Aggie Scholars at annual banquet
News Release
Friday, November 19, 2010

Qualifying students maintained a 3.5 or higher grade point average

Galveston, Tex. TAMUG – The Office of Academic Enhancement, at Texas A&M University at Galveston honored and recognized 158 TAMUG students at the 2010 Aggie Scholars Banquet at Fisherman’s Warf in Galveston.

The students earned the “Aggie Scholar” designation because their academic achievements during the 2009-2010 academic year resulted in grade point averages of 3.5 or higher.

In addition, the banquet also recognized student recipients of Texas Institute of Oceanography awards, Undergraduate Research Fellowships, tutoring awards, the Association of Former Students Distinguished Achievement Award, The Jeffery H. Giles Memorial Scholarship, TAMUG Awards for Undergraduate Research Scholars and the Tri-Beta Biological Honor Society Freshman Biology Award.

“The Office of Academic Enhancement thanks The Association of Former Students for their generous donation to support this year’s Aggie Scholars Banquet,” said TAMUG Academic Advisor Merrideth Kuhl.

Dr. Patrick Louchouarn, TAMUG associate professor of Marine Sciences, addressed the gathering that -- in addition to the honored students -- included parents; TAMUG faculty members, administrators and staff; and friends. Earlier this year, the Association of Former Students honored Louchouarn with its Distinguished Achievement Award.

Dr. William Seitz, acting Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and chief academic officer, and Dr. Donna Lang, Associate Vice President for Enrollment Management and Outreach, presented awards to the honored students.

Aggie Scholars Brittany Davis, Britney Greer, Zachary Oyer, Jessica Spurgin, and Laura Timm received Texas Institute of Oceanography awards at the banquet.

Daniel Dalgleish received the Tutoring Excellence Award and Sean Hennigan received the Most Promising Tutoring Award.

Rebecca Sappenfield was this year’s Jeffery H. Giles Memorial Scholarship Award recipient.

TAMUG’s Awards for Undergraduate Research Scholars went to Brittney Davis, David Gardner, Britney Greer, Matthew Norwood, and Zachary Oyer.

William Stovall earned the TriBeta Biological Honor Society Freshman Biology Award.

Members of the Association of Former Students attending the event were Janice Quast, Class of ‘97, coordinator for Annual Giving, and Brandi Yerkes, Class of ‘04, coordinator of Class Programs.

Galveston residents among the this year’s Aggies Scholars include: Wayne Allen, Danielle Gaucher, Angela Harden, Robert Howell Bodden, Amy Leuchtag, Takashi Makino, Melissa Mathes, Laura Matteson, Sandra Muros, Heather Parker, Tina Roberts and Putri Sutjita.

Other Aggies Scholars from Galveston County include; Kirby Alford, Tara Gerke, Victor Reyes, Michael Sells and Janine Stewart of League City; Peter Cunningham of Hitchcock; Nicholas Duree, Taylor Sanford and John Smith of Santa Fe; Jillian Estrella, Justin Johnstone and Paul Szempruch of Dickinson; Eric Miller, Rowland Moffatt and Emily Townsend of Friendswood; Nichole Fritsch, Alexandria Rangel of Kemah; and Nancy Massy, Nikki Darwin, Michael Plitt, Vanessa Salas and Christopher Semmler of Texas City.

2010 TAMUG Aggie Scholars from Houston include: Whitney Blakely, Jocelyn Breckon, Andrew Cockerham, George Fraley, Lauren Gookin, Britney Greer, Christine Gremillion, William Hedgcoxe, Peyton Holderman, Casey Homer, Logan Knowles, Christopher McAnulty, Rebecca Sappenfield, Emily Sappington, Gary Lynn Smotherman and Alexander Vest.

Honored student from the Greater Houston metropolitan area are: Nicole Bertolini of Seabrook; Seth Gillham, Thomas Heathman, Ayden Herring of Katy; Aaron Halling and Polyanna Halling of Kingwood; Miranda Johnson, Kori Mallet, Jonathan Nowak and David Sohns of Spring; David Johnson of La Porte; Paula Knofla of Cypress; Patrick Landrum and Casey McKinley of Conroe; Michael Miller of Needville; Lindsay Moore and Randall Sullivan of Pasadena; Ashley Pavlovsky of Webster; Cory Rasmussen of Lake Jackson; Joseph Savana and Austin Thompson of Richmond; Ronald Schmiegelt of Pearland; and Stephanie Smith of Tomball.

Other Texans in the group are: Nishangani Abegunawardana of College Station; Elisabeth Allen of Cedar Park; Matthew Athon of Cedar Hill; Megan Benoit of Dayton; Shawn Bodily of Helotes; Dawn Browne and Krysta Honkus of Rosharon; Arielle Carchidi of Corpus Christi; Stephen Carnley of Warren; Robert Chandler of San Angelo; Raelynn Copeland of Marble Falls; Robert Currey, Jessi Doerpinghaus , Ryan Jech, Chase McAnally, Larry Powell and Matthew Warren of Austin; Brittney Davis of Round Rock; Annie Eifert of Jasper; Emily Elsberg of Overton; Kate Fossati and Richard Fossati of Victoria; Brittany Freeman of Crowley; Erica Freno, Lauren Hammack, and Gabriel McQueen of San Antonio; Casey Keener of Celina; Lori Kolaczkowski of Garland; Ashley Lance of Allen; Lauren Lescure of Fulshear; Brett Lindell of Arlington; Angus Paterson of Van; Katie Quintana of Sachse; Jessica Richardson of Jacksboro; Matthew Richter of Port Aransas; William Ridling of Richardson; Glenn Russell of Hutto; Rachel Schweers of Paris; Gretta Sharp of Chandler; Alan Sinclair of Midland; Jessica Spurgin of Greenville; Samuel Vernon of New Braunfels; William Vining of Fairview; and Raven Walker of Elgin.

TAMUG Aggie Scholars from throughout the nation are: Jacqueline Azoulay from Chevy Chase, Md.; Alexandre Boudreaux and Paul Hendrick of New Orleans; Joseph Cleveland of Colorado Springs; Mary Daniel of Indianapolis; Daniel Debroeck of Everett, Wa.; Drew Dizinno of Jefferson, La.; Amanda Ellsworth of Fort Covington, N.Y.; Sean Hennigan of Baldwinsville, N.Y.; Rebecca Johnson of Freeville, N.Y.; Hillary Kowaleski of Las Vegas; Anna Linck of Piedmont, Okla.; Kimberly Mace of Columbus, Ohio; Jessica Mcdowell of Raleigh, N.C.; Sara Parsons of Madison, Ala.; Kayce Peirce of Wasola, Mo., Kimberly Peter of Tulsa, Okla.; Charity Plumb of Sierra Vista, Ariz.; Laura Robichaux of Houma, La.; David Rowley of Bellevue, Wa.; Arthur Sacco of Uxbridge, Mass.; Eric Schmidt of Hazlet, N.J.; Curtis Shelton of Bonneau, S.C.; William Stovall of Webster Groves, Mo.; William Stubbs of Fernandina Beach, Fla.; Laura Timm of Burnsville, N.M.; and Carlos Torres of Holloman Air Force Base, N.M.

International student Aggie Scholars are Xavier Cabrera of Spain, Megan Chan Chow of Trinadad, and Benjamin Oviosu of Nigeria.

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.