Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer May 5, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
May 14 General Election
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, March 15, 2011

The filing period for the May 14 General Election ended on Monday, with several races in the Gulf Coast area drawing unopposed candidates.

In Alvin, Greg Bullard will retain his District E city council seat after filing unopposed for re-election.  

In Fort Bend County, Bridget Yeung will take over the District 2 city council position from Donald Olson, who did not file for re-election, in May.

In Galveston County, Bayou Vista City Council incumbents Mark Johnstone and Gay Reeves are unopposed for election to Position 2 and Position 3.

Several mayoral candidates in Galveston County will serve a fresh term starting in May, with Clear Lake Shores Mayor Vern Johnson, Mayor Victor Pierson in Jamaica Beach, Mayor Anthony Matranga in Hitchock and Mayor Julie Masters in Dickinson all unopposed.

In Dickinson, Charles Suderman, Walter Wilson and Louis Decker received no opponents for Position 1, Position 3 and Position 5, respectively, on the city council. Hitchcock City Commissioner Fard Abdullah is unopposed for re-election to District 1 while Lee Sander will take over from Lee Stephenson in District 2, without challenge.

In Jamaica Beach, incumbents Mary Morse and Brad South received no challengers for their two at-large positions on the city council.

In League City, Dan Becker was the single candidate for City Council Position 1, which is currently held by Neil Baron. Village of Tiki Island aldermen Vernon Teltschick and Ron Simons are unopposed for re-election to their at-large positions.

Correct: Page Rander filed and is opposed by Alan Benjamin to fill the remainder of an unexpired term for District 4 on the Clear Creek Independent School District Board of Trustees. Rander was appointed to fill the seat after Stuart Stromeyer resigned from the seat due to moving out of the district.

Dickinson ISD incumbents Mike Mackey and Rosella Scott will remain in their seats in Position 1 and Position 2, respectively, on the school board; as will Hitchock ISD incumbents Pat Turner, who serves District 3 and Dianne James, who serves in District 5.

Santa Fe ISD candidate for Position 7 Jason O’Brien is unopposed for election to the seat, which is currently held by Bruce Blankenship.

In Harris County, El Lago Mayor Brad Emel will serve another term at the helm, while Robert White will take over from William Schwander for Position 1 on the city council.  Amy Carr was also unopposed for Position 2.

In Nassau Bay, Ronald Swofford is unopposed for re-election to Position 3 and Jonathan Amdur is unopposed for Position 5, which is held by Mark Denman, who is term limited. La Porte City Council District received only one filing, which was from incumbent Michael Mosteit.

In Pasadena, Ornaldo Ybarra filed unopposed for re-election to District A on the city council, while incumbent Steve Cote drew no challengers for District G.

Seabrook City Council incumbents Don Holbrook, who serves in Position 4, and Laura Davis, Position 6, are unopposed. Mike Giangrosso is also unopposed for election to Position 2.

Taylor Lake Village City Council incumbents Lilian Norman-Keeney and Einar Goerland are unopposed for Position 2 and Position 4, respectively.

In Webster, Floyd Myers is set to serve another term as mayor.

At San Jacinto College, Brad Hance filed unopposed for Position 1, and Dr. Ruede Wheeler is unopposed for re-election to his seat in Position 2. Michael “Keith” Sinor is unopposed for the unexpired term in Position 7, after challenger David L. Janda, Jr. withdrew from the race.

In Jefferson County, Jamie D. Smith is unopposed for re-election to his city council seat in Ward IV.

For the Port of Beaumont Navigation District Board of Commissioners, Georgine Guillory is unopposed for re-election to represent Ward IV, and Louis Broussard is unopposed for another term in his at-large position.

While official filing has ended, write-in candidates may file. Deadlines for write-in candidates vary, but generally the deadline is the fifth day after regular filing ends, according to the Texas Secretary of State’s office.

For a comprehensive list of elections in the area, including contested races, visit the Election Page. Click Here

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.