Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Alvin Community College
ACC students inducted into PTK
News Release
Thursday, March 31, 2011

Alvin Community College chemistry instructor and Phi Theta Kappa Mu Upsilon Chapter Lead Advisor Donna Payne (right) congratulates ACC student Tracy Blakely, of Pearland, during the spring induction ceremony on March 25. Blakely was one of 34 ACC students to be inducted into the chapter at the event.The Alvin Community College Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 34 new members during its spring ceremony on March 25. Over 3,600 students have been inducted into the ACC PTK chapter since its inception in 1963.

PTK is the international honor society of two-year colleges. Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship. To be eligible for PTK, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of at least 3.5. 

Students inducted into ACC PTK during the ceremony were: Tracy Blakely, of Pearland; Sean Boggan, of Alvin; Asaea Burns, of League City; Christin Catalina, of League City; Mark Copeland, of League City; Heather Corona, of League City; John Dowling, of Alvin; Melissa Dowling, of Alvin; Matthew Driscoll, of Santa Fe; Victoria Fath, of Pearland; Laurell Garcia, of Houston; Darline Gonzalez, of Brazoria; Michelle Goodrum, of Alvin; Sara Greene, of League City; Kevin Johnson, of Pearland; Megan Kehr, of Alvin; Elizabeth McAfee, of Brazoria; Rebecca Neillands, of Alvin; Kathie O’Donovan, of Friendswood; Joaquin Olivarez, Jr., of Alvin; Timothy Olsen, of Alvin; William Parker, of Alvin; Rachel Randall, of Alvin; Tamra Rowe, of League City; Theresa Saenz, of Hitchcock; Miranda Sanchez, of Alvin; James Seals, of Brazoria; Elizabeth Smith, of Friendswood; Denice Spreeman, of Santa Fe; Justin Standard, of Manvel; Isaac Tidwell, of Dickinson; Isaac Wehmanen, of Manvel; Melissa Wilburn, of Pearland; and Laura Williams, of Alvin.

For more information about ACC PTK membership, call (281) 756-5674.

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.