Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer May 5, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
Election Day in Southeast Texas
by Garrett Bryce and Jim & Lynda Guidry
Sunday, May 15, 2011

Two incumbent mayors of Galveston County cities were defeated by challengers and one was recalled on Saturday.

Tim Paulissen defeated incumbent Mayor Toni Randall to be elected Mayor of League City; and Bob Cummins defeated incumbent Mayor Matt Wiggins to be elected Mayor of Kemah.  La Marque Mayor Geraldine Sam was recalled by the voters.

Also in Galveston County, Ted Kennedy who has been serving as mayor since the death of Mayor Phil Hopkins was elected to the position; and Bobby Rosenquist was elected Mayor of Bayou Vista. Glenn Royal was elected Mayor of Seabrook.

Tom Reid was reelected Mayor of Pearland. Gary Appelt was reelected Mayor of Alvin. Beaumont Mayor Becky Ames was reelected.

Roney McCrary and Wayne Miles were elected to the College of the Mainland Board of Trustees. The COM bond election is too close to call and won't be decided until additional mail-in ballots are counted and provisional ballots are reviewed.

There were other important issues on the ballot.

Galveston voters approved a proposal to charge a fee to park on Seawall Boulevard. News Release

The Dickinson Sales Tax issue was approved.

Fourteen amendments to the Webster City Charter were approved.

Seven of nine proposed charter changes were approved by Sugar Land voters.

To review the complete, unofficial tally of the votes in these and other races in Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris and Jefferson counties Click Here

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.