Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer May 5, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
June 2011 Runoff Elections
by Garrett Bryce
Wednesday, June 01, 2011

(This story has been updated) June will provide voters with another round at the polls in several areas, with runoff elections and one special election scheduled at various times during the month.

In La Marque, no new candidates put their names on the ballot to be the city’s next mayor before Tuesday’s filing deadline, but two candidates have withdrawn, leaving the special election a race between Bobby Hocking (pictured) and Geraldine Sam, who was mayor until May when she was removed from office by a recall election.  If elected back into office, she will serve the remainder of her unexpired term.

Peggy Phillips withdrew her application for the June 25 special election, as did La Marque City Council Member Connie Trube.

In addition to the special mayor’s election, La Marque voters will decide a runoff election between Clent Brown and David Pennington for City Council District D.  La Marque Independent School District will also hold a runoff election to decide a tied-race between Dr. Bill Spillar and Davey Jones for District 7 on the district’s board of trustees.

Pearland will also hold a runoff election for City Council Position 3 on June 25.  Candidates will choose between Susan Sherrouse and Tammy Dexter, who received the top amount of votes in the five-candidate race on May 14.

Port Arthur will hold its runoff elections on June 25 for two positions on the city council.  In District 4,  voters will decide between Harold Doucet and Warren Field, while Willie “Bae” Lewis, Jr. and Derrick Freeman will compete for the District 7 seat.

Sugar Land will hold two runoff elections on June 11 for City Council District 3 and District 4.  Howard Paul and Amy Lynn Mitchell will face off for District 3, while Farha Ahmed and Harish C. Jajoo will compete for District 4.

La Porte will also hold its runoff election on June 11 for City Council At-Large Position B.  Dottie Kaminski and Rick Guzman will be on the ballot for the runoff.

In Pasadena, Erv Brannon and Richard Serna will compete in a runoff for City Council District E on June 11.

Galveston College
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.