Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Higher Education
UTMB Medical School to Host Commencement
News Release
Wednesday, June 01, 2011

More than 200 to become new physicians at state’s oldest medical school

GALVESTON — More than 200 people will become new physicians upon graduating from the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston, the oldest medical school in Texas.

Nearly 60 percent of the class of 2011 will remain in Texas to continue their medical training as residents. And just under half of the class will be entering primary care residency training.

Four of the graduates probably will get extra cheers from some UTMB faculty members who just happen to be their parents. The graduates with parents on staff at UTMB are Michael E. Boyars, son of Dr. Michael C. Boyars; Cooper Phillips, son of Dr. Linda Phillips; Sara Janne Aarsland, daughter of Dr. Asle Aarsland and Brian Masel, son of Dr. Brent Masel.

“I am so proud of all of our graduates for all of their accomplishments,” said Dr. Garland D. Anderson, provost and dean of the UTMB School of Medicine. “And I am extremely proud of our faculty members whose children are entering the medical profession. Texans should be proud of all these graduates who exemplify the best of our next generation of physicians.”

The 121st graduation ceremony for the UTMB School of Medicine is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. Saturday, June 4 at the Moody Gardens Convention Center in Galveston and will feature as keynote speaker Dr. Pedro “Joe” Greer Jr. of Miami, who has championed health care for the disadvantaged and disenfranchised.   

Greer, who has won a MacArthur “Genius” Fellowship and has been awarded the Presidential Medal of Freedom, opened clinics in Miami to provide health care for the poor and homeless.  His topic for the keynote is “Why the World is Yours to Save.”

The ceremony Saturday also will include the announcement of the Gold-Headed Cane Award winner who is selected by his or her graduating peers as well as the introduction of this year’s Ashbel Smith Distinguished Alumni Award winners.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.