Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Sports News
College of the Mainland
News Release
Monday, September 12, 2011


Summer volleyball league champions announced


College of the Mainland’s summer volleyball league concluded with five teams taking the top spots. The fall community volleyball league sign up deadline and practice is scheduled Tuesday, Sept. 13. League play begins Tuesday, Sept. 13 and Thursday, Sept. 15.

Teams consist of three men and three women on Thursday evening leagues that begin Sept. 15. The “A” League for power teams plays from 6 to 7 p.m.
The “AB” League for power and intermediate players competes from 7 to 8 p.m.
The “B” League plays from 8 to 9 p.m. and is for intermediate level players.
The “C” League competes from 9 to 10 p.m. and is geared toward new players with little or no formal experience. The 4-on-4 Coed Tuesday night league is set to begin Sept. 13 and plays from 7 to 9 p.m. Each team consists of two men and two women.

For more information about any of the volleyball leagues, call 409-933-8190.

Winners of College of the Mainland’s summer volleyball league include (left to right):

“A” League Champs: Todd Sutherland of Bayou Vista; Melissa Fortier of Alvin; Paul Carradine of Clear Lake; Kim Harvey of Deer Park; Matt Uhlig of Clear Lake; Not pictured – Keith Fickbohm

“AB” League Champs: Julie Risdon of Friendswood; Jeff Risdon of Friendswood; Larry Smith of Friendswood; Jenny Johnson of Webster; Joe Mancuso of Texas City; Not pictured – Debra Oubre of Friendswood

“B” League Champs: Jamie Rodriguez of Santa Fe; Nicole Koegel of Friendswood; John Thayer of Nassau Bay; Susan Lanham of Friendswood; Natascha Compton of Houston; Mario Martinez of Dickinson

“C” League Champs: Emily Coughenour of League City; Rusty Skillman of Houston; Jerry Du of Dickinson; Tim Edson of Houston; Brittany Hays of Friendswood

4-on-4 Coed League Champs: Steven Richardson of Alvin; Ashleigh Orsak of Katy; Kevin Martindale of Santa Fe; Stephanie McGinnes of Santa Fe

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.