Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Jefferson County
Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce
News Release
Wednesday, September 21, 2011

Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce Presents:
9th Annual - Parental Program Partner Awards

Thursday, September 22, 2011
MCM Elegante’ Hotel & Conference Center - 12noon

The Greater Beaumont Chamber of Commerce believes the quality of tomorrow’s work force depends on the education foundation laid today.  One of the most significant keys to good student performance is parental involvement.  In an effort to recognize and highlight this key component of academic success, BISD principals were asked to nominate extraordinary parents, who despite their own struggles, go the extra mile to ensure their children attend school, exhibit model citizenship and excel in the classroom.

We will announce our ninth annual Parental Partner Program awards before over 250 guests at a membership lunch. Dr. Carrol Thomas, superintendent of BISD, Dr. Jimmy Simmons, president of Lamar University, Dr. Paul Szuch, president of Lamar Institute of Technology along with all of our sponsors of the event will be present to thank these special parents.

We will present 27 nominees:

NameSchool - Nominating Principal

Amy Benoit - Amelia Elementary - Holley Hancock

Pamela Coleman - Austin Middle School - Aaron Covington

Michael Smith - Blanchette Elementary - Barbara Hardeman

Teresa San Miguel - Caldwood Elementary - Jim Melanson

Maria Mendoza - Central Medical Magnet - Ms. Lambert

Tawanna Clark - Dishman Elementary - Paul Shipman

Constance Kemp - Charlton-Pollard Elementary - Wayne Wells

Patricia Banks - Fehl Elementary - Cynthia Washington

Alejandra&Santos Velazquez - Field Elementary - Lydia Bahnsen

Maria Rodriguez - Fletcher Elementary - Anita Frank

Earnest & Serena Jones - Jones-Clark Elementary - Jackquelyn Lavergne

Diana Rodriguez - Homer Drive Elementary - Ava Colbert

Kyle Watts - Marshall Middle School - Shannon Allen

Boyd Williams - Lucas Pre-K - Patricia Blueford

Albert Espree - Martin Elementary - Martha Fowlers

Xianchang Li & Sharon Goa - Odom Academy - Alma Brown

Tiffany Dunlap - Ozen High School - James Broussard

Shenequa Sanders - Paul A. Brown Credit Recovery - Elvena Colbert

Cynthia Redou - Pietzsch-MacArthur Elementary - Linda Thomas

Carol Colone - A.L. Price - Rachel Jones

Michele Brooke - Regina-Howell Elementary - Lydia Bahsen

Nicole Christmas - Roy Guess Elementary - Hoyt Simmons

Martha Farmer - Sallie Curtis Elementary - Susan Brown

Arthur Hebert - Southerland Head Start - Lisa Bolton

Raw Hawthorn - Smith Magnet School - Wilbert Andrews

Yola Poullard - West Brook High School - Bill Daniels

Marcy Marshall - Vincent Middle School - Randall Maxwell

Five nominees have been selected to receive additional recognition in the form of a $250 gift card.

Winners will be announced at the lunch on September 22, 2011 at the MCM Elegante’ Hotel.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.