Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Public Safety News
Galveston Police Awards Ceremony
by Marsha Canright with photos by Juan Peña
Saturday, October 22, 2011

The Galveston Police Department recognized dozens of officers and supporters of law enforcement in an awards ceremony at the Galveston Island Convention Center on Friday.

“It was a chance for the administrators and management to actually get to spotlight the people who are ‘on the job, on the streets’,” said Police Chief Henry Porretto.  “We want them to know that the fine work they do is appreciated."

Five Galveston police officers received high department honors -- the life saving and medal of valor awards.

Medal of valor recipients are officers Carl Lomax, Scott Peña and sergeants Matthew Maggiolino and Destin Sims.  Sergeant Larry Chambers earned the lifesaving award.

Chief Porretta also presented commendations for outstanding police work to sergeants Tim Buck, John Courtney, and Matthew Maggiolino, and officers Josh Allred, Robert Sanderson, Patrick Mullins, Rick McCullor, Carl Lomax, Wanda Draper, and Joneka Lloyd, officers Chad Meyers and William Ashton, and Texas City police officer Jamie Osteen. 

Commendations were also awarded to Lieutenant Joel Caldwell, Houston police officer Mike Casso and Drug Enforcement Agency agent Jeff Hartsock for their collaborative efforts with the department.

Meritorious unit commendations were awarded to the marine division for their rescue and law enforcement actions during and following Hurricane Ike, and to special operations including Captain Walter Braun, sergeants John Courtney, Tim Buck, Renaye Ochoa, Phillips, Jeremy Smart, Robert Sanderson, Scott Pena, Rick McCullor, Angela Rojas, Gordon Morse, Sean Migues and David Hirsch, and sergeant Mike Varela and officers Jeremy Attaway, Kevin Mach, Garrett Groce and Chris McNeil.

A superior leadership award was presented to John Courtney and Civic Achievement Awards were presented to Lieutenant Joel Caldwell, Captain Joe Peña, and retired officer D.J. Alvarez. 

There was a presentation to Dr. and Mrs. Ivey “in grateful appreciation of your generous donation to the Galveston Police Department Special Response Group”.

About 200 people attended the ceremony.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.