Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Higher Education
University of Texas Medical Branch
News Release
Wednesday, November 02, 2011

Salute to Nursing events raise $112,000 to benefit students

GALVESTON, Texas — The 17th annual Salute to Nursing Golf Tournament and Auction Party raised $112,000 in scholarship funds for students attending the School of Nursing at the University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston.

“We are overjoyed that our tournament and auction are going to provide much needed scholarships to highly talented nursing students,” said Pamela G. Watson, dean of the School of Nursing.  “We are proud that this wonderful UTMB-generated Galveston tradition plays such a big role in helping future nurses to be successful at UTMB.  We’re already looking forward to next year!” 

This year’s funds are earmarked to benefit students enrolling in the School of Nursing’s new Clinical Nurse Leader master’s degree program and the new Doctor of Nursing Practice program for advanced practice nurses.  Both programs will begin enrolling students in January, 2012.  The scholarships will greatly help to attract the best and the brightest in nurses seeking advanced degrees.

There were 144 golfers participating in the tournament on Oct. 7 and more than 200 attended the party and silent auction that followed at the Galveston Country Club.

Following are tournament winners:

The Titus Harris award and team with the lowest gross: Steve Connor, Marc Shabot, Charlie Corbell and Gerald Cleveland.

Low net, first place: Zak Shakhshir, Mike St. Clair, Willie Walker and Norman Quiroz.

Low net, second place: Jason Botkin, Alan Cowley, Nick Lazarro and Shane Johns.

Women’s division low net, first place: Julie Hoopingarner, Anita Wiener, Mary Ann Emerson and Nancy Mafrige.

Closest to the pin: Stan Ledbetter, Sherry Vetter, Chuck Anderson and Andy Alvarez.

Longest drive: Dr. Barbara Thompson and Gerald Cleveland

The McGanity award for the UTMB team with the lowest score: Office of the President team Rex Ross, Charlie Worthen, Ryan Micks and Stan Ledbetter.

Pamela G. Watson, dean of the School of Nursing hosted the event and Sue M. Harris and David Murphy served as tournament co-chairs. Sue Anderson and Libbie Walker Ansell served as post tournament co-chairs.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.