Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer March 6, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
Election Day in Southeast Texas
by Jim Guidry and Garrett Bryce
Wednesday, November 09, 2011

Houston Mayor Annise Parker defeated five challengers on Tuesday, albeit with only 50.86 percent of the vote. 

"I love this city more than I can say," Parker said to cheering supporters, "and I want to thank the voters of Houston for giving me two more years in a job that I love."

Democratic National Committee Vice Chair R.T. Rybak, who is the mayor of Minneapolis, congratulated Parker on her re-election.

“Mayor Parker’s victory proves that Americans value common-sense Democratic leadership that is moving our country forward," Rybak said. "Like mayors across the country, she understands the importance of investing in infrastructure and the value of small businesses as keys to a strong economy and as the pathway to better opportunities for our future generations."

Incumbent Council Member Jolanda Jones finished first in a four person race, but with only 38 percent of the vote. She will face Jack Christie, who got 33 percent of the vote, in a runoff.

Andrew Burks, who led a ten candidate race for an at-large city council seat with 17 percent of the vote, will face Kristi Thibaut, who got 15 percent of the vote, in a runoff election.

Incumbent Council Members Wanda Adams, Al Hoang, Oliver Pennington, Ed Gonzalez and James Rodriguez all won reelection without runoffs.

Incumbent District A Council Member Brenda Stardig finished second in a three person race with 41 percent of the vote.  Helena Brown, who had 47 percent of the vote, will meet Stardig in a runoff election.

Alvin Bird, with 25 percent of the vote, and Jerry Davis, with 24 percent, will meet in a runoff for the Houston City Council District B seat.

Ellen Cohen won election to an at-large city council seat with 53 percent of the vote in a five candidate race.

Mike Laster and Larry Green won easy victories to join the city council as the representatives of the newly created District J and District K.

Incumbent Houston ISD Board of Education members Manuel Rodriguez Jr., Paula Harris, and Juliet K. Stipeche won re-election, although Rodriguez’s margin of victory was less than one percent.
News Release

"I'm incredibly grateful for the opportunity to represent the students of District IV," Harris said in a news release, "We have accomplished so much in four years, but there is still work to do." Release

Former Houston City Council member Carroll Robinson defeated Jew Don Boney, also a former council member, for a position on the Houston Community College Board of Directors. Incumbent Chris Oliver easily won re-election.

Wayne Crozier and Tim Rainey were victors in a three person race for two positions on the Tiki Island Board of Aldermen.

Voters in Jefferson County approved the creation of Jefferson County Emergency Services District No. 3 and an ad valorem tax to support it.

For the final, but unofficial vote totals, Click Here

HomeTown Bank Carolyn Sunseri for Council District 5
Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.