Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Jefferson County
South East Texas Regional Planning Commission
News Release
Wednesday, January 11, 2012


The South East Texas Regional Planning Commission (SETRPC) will hold its 40th Annual Dinner meeting on Wednesday, January 18, 2012.  The Annual Dinner Meeting will be held at the MCM Elegante’ and will begin with a Reception at 6:00 p.m. followed by Dinner at 7:00 p.m.  SETRPC is a voluntary association of local governments established in June 1970 that includes Hardin, Jefferson, and Orange Counties.  SETRPC promotes intergovernmental cooperation and coordination, and provides a forum for the discussion and study of area issues.

Highlights of the meeting will include installation of SETRPC Officers for 2012.  Officers will include:  Commissioner Ken Pelt, Hardin County, President; Commissioner David Dubose, Orange County, 1st  Vice-President; Mayor Glenn Johnson, City of Port Neches, 2nd  Vice-President; Mayor Fred Williams, City of Kountze, 3rd  Vice-President; Mayor Kirk Roccaforte, City of Bridge City, Treasurer and Commissioner Eddie Arnold, Jefferson County, Secretary.  Ray Moore, Moore Landrey LLP, will serve as Legal Counsel. 

Also included in the evenings events will be the presentation of the Don Kelly “South East Texan of the Year” Award.  Mr. Kelly served as the Executive Director of SETRPC for 30 years before retiring in 2000.  This Award is presented to an individual who has made significant contributions to the growth, cooperative spirit, and prosperity of the region.

Finalists for the Kelly Award are:  Kim McMurray, Entergy – Team City and Dr. Betty Iles, longtime educator from Lumberton (Local elected officials make up the Selection Committee).

The Frances K. Monk “Regional Leadership” Award will also be presented.  Frances Monk served as Mayor of the City of Port Neches for many years, and served as President of SETRPC in 1996 and was serving a second term as President of SETRPC at the time of her death.  This Award is presented to an elected official who exemplifies regional leadership in South East Texas.

Finalists for the Monk Award are:   Elaine Allums, Mayor Pro Tem, City of Kountze, and Councilman Alan Coleman, City of  Beaumont  (Local business and community leaders make up the Selection Committee).

Recipients of both awards will be named at the Dinner Meeting.

For additional information, please contact Shaun P. Davis, Executive Director at 409.899.8444.x 6041 or

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.