Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Texas Department of Transportation
News Release
Monday, January 23, 2012


HOUSTON – Texas Department of Transportation Houston District Engineer Michael Alford made a surprise presentation at today’s Montgomery County Commissioners Court meeting, honoring The Honorable Ed Chance, Montgomery County Commissioner Precinct 3, with the prestigious Road Hand Award.

The Road Hand Award is a joint effort between the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) and the Texas Good Roads/Transportation Association to recognize those special individuals who have freely given their time, energy, support and vision toward accomplishing important transportation programs or projects in their communities, their region or the entire state.

Commissioner Chance is a visionary and he has taken the lead to put transportation bond issues in front of voters before elections. He is also active in pursuing federal and state funding for transportation and mobility projects in Montgomery County.

Commissioner Chance has been a champion for transportation improvements in Montgomery County over the last 25 years. One of his greatest achievements is the Montgomery County Northstar traffic management network, which manages the operation of all county owned traffic signals. He was also instrumental in the formation of the Montgomery County Toll Road Authority.

A photo from the event is included with this press release. For more information please contact Danny Perez, TxDOT Public Information Officer - Houston District, at (713) 802-5072.

Previous Road Hand Award recipients from TxDOT’s Houston District six-county area include:
Ed Emmett (2010)
                Alan B. Sadler (2008)
               William F. “Billy” Burge III (2007)
                Roger H. Hord (2005)
                Peter McStravick (2003)
                Patricia A. Maddox (2002)
                Richard Lindley, Jr. (1997)
                Jon Lindsay (1994)
                Alan Clark (1995)
                Ernest Z. Clouser (1984)
                Roy L. Schultz (1981)
                Earl C. Calkins, Jr. (1975)
                Jimmy Miller (1974)
                Fred Hartman (1973)

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.