Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Spacer March 6, 2018 Election Returns Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston College
May 12 General Election
by Garrett Bryce
Friday, February 03, 2012

Local candidates can soon begin filing to run for local city council and school board positions in several counties, as official filing for the May 12 General Election opens on Saturday.

While, according to the Texas Secretary of State's Office, the first day to file is February 4, many city and school offices will be closed, and will accept filings starting Monday. Texas City Independent School District, however, announced that it was accepting applications from candidates this week.

Several mayoral races are on the ballot in May. In Fort Bend, Missouri City and Sugar Land both have mayors with terms expiring this year. Allen Owen currently serves as mayor in Missouri City, while James Thompson holds the position in Sugar Land.

In Galveston County, Galveston Mayor Joe Jaworski's first term expires, and will be open to challengers along with the entirety of the city council. Texas City will also hold elections for its entire city commission, including the position of mayor, currently held by Matthew T. Doyle.

Bayou Vista will hold mayoral elections. Bobby Rosenquist currently is holding an unexpired term in the city's lead spot.

In Friendswood, Mayor David J.H. Smith's term expires.

La Marque Mayor Bobby Hocking will be seeking his first full term. Hocking is currently serving an unexpired term previously held by former mayor Geraldine Sam.

Santa Fe Mayor Ralph Stenzel has a term expiring in May.

In Harris County, La Porte Mayor Louis R. Rigby, Nassau Bay Mayor Don Matter and Shoreacres Mayor Dolly Arons have terms that end this year. Matter is term limited and will not be eligible to seek re-election.

Other races include city council positions in Jefferson County, with District 5 and District 6 on the ballot. John Beard, Jr. holds the District 5 seat, while Robert E. Williams currently serves in District 6.

Filing will continue through March 5, with early voting beginning April 12 and ending May 8.

For additional school, city and college positions that will be open to candidates, visit the Election Page. Click Here

HomeTown Bank Carolyn Sunseri for Council District 5
Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.