Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Galveston County
Galveston County Primary Election Filing
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, March 27, 2012

(This report was updated at 4:30 to add Mark Foster to the list of candidates for Galveston County Commissioner Precinct 1.)

Filing for Galveston County Commissioners Court seats in Precinct 1 and Precinct 3 ends today at 5 p.m., with additional candidates filing in both parties to claim the Precinct 1 seat, where incumbent Patrick Doyle recently withdrew his re-election bid.
The filing deadline was extended by the United States Department of Justice, which has now pre-cleared the commissioner court's precinct boundaries.

Doyle has officially filed his paperwork to withdraw from the race, according to Galveston County Democratic Party Chair Lloyd Criss.  Winston Cochran has filed for the position in the Democratic Party’s Primary.  Currently, no other candidates with the party have filed for the seat.

Galveston County’s Republican Party has four candidates that have filed for the Precinct 1 seat so far.  Justice of the Peace Mark Foster this afternoon joined Ryan Dennard, Bill Chuoke and Maryanne Rogers in the race.

No Republican candidates have filed for Precinct 3 so far.  Incumbent Stephen Holmes and James Rudy Hobgood have filed under the Democratic Party ticket.

Primary elections in Texas will take place on May 29.  For a current list of candidates in the race, visit the Primary Election Page.   Click here

Resource Crisis Center
Coastal Surge Protection

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.