Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Center for Recycled Art Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
Academy of Texas Music
News Release
Monday, March 24, 2014

Aubrey Lynn England crowned Entertainer of the Year
Freddie Steady Krc receives lifetime honors

LINDEN, TX – Aubrey Lynn England, from McKinney, Texas, was named Entertainer of the Year at the 12th annual Texas Music AwardsTM on March 22nd at the Texas Music Barn inside the Academy of Texas Music headquarters in Linden.

England was only the second female to garner the Entertainer award in the history of the Texas Music Awards.  The first was Pauline Reese, who received the award twice.

England's amazing year was fueled by the release of "Whiskey and You" by Sherman, Texas, group, Chapter 11.  The duet with Chapter 11's front man, Sean Franks, spent literally months on the Texas Music Charts, and received national recognition.  The recording of the song also received the Texas Music Award for Record of the Year, an award bestowed upon songs which enjoy an elevated level of notoriety.

The Academy honored legendary performer, Freddie Steady Krc (pronounced "kurch"), with their Lifetime Achievement Award.  The unsuspecting Krc was visibly moved by the presentation, and received a standing ovation as he took the stage.  He will be enshrined with an exhibit commemorating his musical achievements in the future music museum which will be housed in a portion of the Academy building.

"One of the exciting things about this year's show was that, for the first time, visitors could enter the Texas Music Barn without negotiating a single stairway.  The new ramp into the building is amazing," says Academy executive director Jinelle Boyd.

Boyd, who is also one of the producers of the show, remarked on its success, "Our outstanding volunteers are the secret weapons, once again making this a wonderful experience for all.  As always, the performances were pure magic and the fans had a great time."  She added, "When so many creative, artistic people converge at such an extraordinary event, you can actually feel the electricity in the air...perhaps because the underlying theme of the entire event, from the nomination period to the show itself and beyond, is about celebrating ALL of the nominees and their music, not just those who take home actual awards.  It's a fabulous thing to be a part of."

The Academy of Texas Music, Inc. is a non-profit organization and the Texas Music Barn is the venue located inside the Academy's building at 301 E. Houston Street in Linden.  As the Academy relies solely on the generosity of the public and private sector, donations of any size are welcome, and patrons are encouraged to join the Music Friends program at the Academy website,

For more information on the awards, visit

A list of the 2014 award recipients appears below:

Luke Adair and The Big Bills for IN HERE ON THE OUTSIDE (Luke Adair and The Big Bills)

Vocal Group
Grievous Angels for GRIEVOUS ANGELS (The Grievous Angels)

Vocal Duo
Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay for BEFORE THE WORLD WAS MADE (Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay

Mark Searcy for HAZEPIPE (Mark Searcy)

"Whiskey and You" Chapter 11, featuring Aubrey Lynn England

"Praying for Rain" Jesse Brand, songwriter

Female Vocalist
Brennen Leigh for BEFORE THE WORLD WAS MADE (Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay)

Male Vocalist
Cameran Nelson for HAPPY TO BEER (Cameran Nelson)

BEAUTIFUL SIN - The Scott Taylor Band

Aubrey Lynn England (McKinney, Texas)

Danny Everitt (Houston, Texas)

Rising Star
Julia Beers (Hughes Springs, Texas)
Troy Cartwright (Dallas, Texas)

Live Band
Mark Allan Atwood and Brimstone (Ft. Worth, Texas)

Disc Jockey
Roark Smith – KPFT – Houston, TX

Broadcast Radio Station

KPFT – 90.1 FM – Houston, TX

Popular Cover
"Funny How Time Slips Away" off BEAUTIFUL SIN - The Scott Taylor Band

Artistic Excellence Awards
TCLB Live - The Captain Legendary Band

Carl T. Sprague Award
Emily Herring for YOUR MISTAKE (Emily Herring)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Freddy Steady Krc (Austin, Texas)

Ocean Star
The Grand 1894 Opera House GRCC

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.