Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership
H-GAC Transportation Policy Council
by John David Suayan with photos courtesy H-GAC
Monday, August 29, 2016

The Houston-Galveston Area Council Transportation Policy Council on Friday voted unanimously to approve the reclassification of West Airport Boulevard in Houston. Listen (3:37)

The Texas Department of Transportation requested the change of designation of West Airport Boulevard from a Local street to a Minor Arterial between FM 521 and Hiram Clarke and from a Major Collector to a Minor Arterial between Hiram Clarke and Post Oak Road. The change supports widening and expansion projects along West Airport. Item Summary

“We'd like to propose to change that to minor arterials due to the population that's growing in the region,” said Andy Mao, Director of Transportation Planning for the TxDOT-Houston District.

Houston City Council Member Larry Green expressed gratitude for passage of the reclassification, which will take place in his district.

“Essentially, the right-of-way was acquired by TxDOT some while ago and the actual dollars for construction had not been made available, but via district reclassification, dollars have become available,” said Green.

He added that the aforementioned project will increase mobility throughout the Almeda-Hiram Clarke Corridor.

The policy council did not have any proposed changes to the 2017-2020 Transportation Improvement Program and and 2040 Regional Transportation Plan to review and consider.

The policy council voted unanimously to recognize Sugar Land City Councilman and outgoing policy council member Harish Jajoo. Listen (1:24)

Jajoo was not present to receive his honor.

“On behalf of the City of Sugar Land, we appreciate Harish’s service,” said Sugar Land Mayor Joe Zimmerman.

Vice-Chair Darrell Morrison, who presided over the meeting in Chair Matt Sebesta’s place, said that he worked with Jajoo in Houston city government for 20 years, calling him a friend.

Pearland Deputy City Manager Jon Branson introduced BayTran’s new president, Theresa Rodriguez. Rodriguez succeeded Barbara Koslov, who went to work with Harris County Judge Ed Emmett’s office. Listen (1:58)

The policy council achieved a quorum of 20 voting members. Agenda Attendance

The next meeting of the Transportation Policy Council is scheduled for September 23 at 9:30 a.m.

Dannenbaum Engineering BayTran
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.