Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum Lakewood Yacht Club
Bay Area Houston
La Porte City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, September 12, 2017

La Porte City Council on Monday voted 8-1, with Kristin Martin opposed, to postpone adoption of the city's FY2018 Budget until September 25.

The city council voted 8-1, with Martin opposed, to also postpone items regarding the ratification of an increase of revenue form property taxes reflected in the proposed budget, adoption of the 2017 appraisal roll, and establishment of a tax rate of $0.71 per $100 valuation for the 2017 Tax Year.

The city council voted voted unanimously to approve various appointments to boards and commissions, as follows:

  • Building Codes of Appeals: Reappointment of Ken Schlather and Mark Follis and appointment of Maisey Barringer
  • Chapter 172 Employee Retiree Insurance and Benefits Committee: Reappointment of Martha Gillett and Juliane Graham
  • Civil Service Commission: Ratifcation of city manager's appointment of Les Bird
  • Fire Code Review: Appointment of Chris Pettis, and Paul Vige, with one position remaining open
  • La Porte Area Water Authority: Reappointment of Doug Martin and Stephen Barr and appointment of Cambria Beasley
  • La Porte Development Corporation: Reappointment of Chuck Engleken, Nancy Ojeda, and Richard Warren, and replacement of Randy Woodard with Doyle Black
  • La Porte Fire Control Prevention & Emergency Medical Services District: Reappointment of Dottie Kaminski, Robert Eldridge and Ronald Nowetner and appointment of Dewey Walls
  • La Porte Health Authority: Reappointment of Abdul R. Moosa as health authority and Robert D. Johnston as alternate
  • La Porte Tax Reinvesment Zone No. 1: Reappointment of Peggy Antone, Alton Porter and Doug Martin
  • La Porte Redevelopment Authority: Reappointment of Peggy Antone, Alton Porter and Doug Martin
  • Planning and Zoning Commission: Reappointment of Trey Kendrick, Christina Tschappat and Nick Barerra
  • Southeast Texas Housing Finance Corporation: Reappointment of Betty Moore
  • Zoning Board of Adjustment: Reappointment of Nettie Warren, Shelley Fuller and Phillip Hoot

The city council voted unanimously to approve a study of drainage needs for the La Porte Municipal Airport, and to include South Lomax in the study.

The city council voted unanimously to decline extension of benefits for Officer Seth Candelari related to leave caused by a line-of-duty injury, as discussed in closed session.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. All members were present. Agenda

BayTran Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.