Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Fort Bend County
Sugar Land City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Thursday, September 21, 2017

Sugar Land City Council on Tuesday voted 4-3, with Amy Mitchell, Mary Joyce and Carol McCutcheon opposed, to adopt the city's FY2018 Budget and the Capital Improvements Program for 2018-2022.

The budget projects total operating funds of $208,605,044, and capital projects funds totaling $22,330,556, for a total budget of $230,935,600.

The five-year Capital Improvements Program includes projects totaling $130.3 million.

The city council voted 5-2, with Mitchell and Joyce opposed, to adopt a property tax rate of $0.32233 per $100 valuation for the 2017 Tax Year.

The rate reflects a 3 percent increase above the effective rate of $0.31293 per $100 valuation, which will result in increased revenues for the city based on existing property on the tax rolls.

Of the total tax rate, revenues from $0.18392 per $100 valuation will fund maintenance and operation of the city, while revenues from the remaining $0.13841 will be used to make payments on the city's bonded indebtedness.

The city council voted 5-2, with Mitchell and Joyce opposed, to ratify the property tax revenue increase included in the FY2018 Budget.

The budget will raise $574,002 more in revenues than in the FY2017 Budget. Of that amount, $361,023 will be raised from new property added to the tax rolls this year.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint Kathy Huebner, Carl Stephens, Sue Sanchez, Heather Davis, Jay Canine, Dan Simeone, Taylor Landin, Matthew Caligur and Zeenat Mitha tot he Planning and Zoning Commission. Huebner was named chair of the board and Stephens as first vice chair.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint Herbert Schwab and Joshua LaRocca to the Zoning Board of Adjustment, as well as naming Nancy Porter as chair and LaRocca as vice chair of the board, and appointing Ronna Pederson, Saleena Jafry and Karen Linsay as alternate members.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint Kelly Knake, Ann Magoon, Rick Pal, Pankaj Shah, Alyssa Gomez, Mumtaz Qureshi, and Ravi Arora as regular members and Lana Goldberg, Jean Hubbard and Mal Lusky as alternate members to the Building Standards Commission. Knake was named chair and Magoon as vice chair of the board.

The board voted unanimously to appoint Bill Hickl, Mary Joyce and Carol McCutcheon to the Sugar Land 4B Corporation Board of Directors.

The city council took no action regarding the appointment of four members to the Sugar Land Legacy Foundation, and appointment of a president of the board. The item was pulled from the agenda.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. All members were present. Agenda

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.