Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership GRCC
Galveston County
Friendswood City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Thursday, November 09, 2017

Friendswood City Council on Monday voted unanimously to cast the city's 128 ballots in favor of electing Mary Trish Hanks to the Galveston Central Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Local taxing authorities nominated nine candidates for the five-member board. David Moss, Clay Morrison, Scott Brast, Victor Pierson and Kevin Corcoran, who currently serve on the board, were nominated for re-election, while Vaun Henry, Hanks, Roney McCrary and Bruce Clawson were nominated as possible new members. Galveston County Tax Assessor-Collector Cheryl Johnson serves as an ex-officio member. Taxing entities in Galveston County may cast a number of ballots based on their percentage of the overall tax levy of the county.

The city council voted unanimously to cast its vote to elect Mike Sullivan to the Harris County Appraisal District Board of Directors.

The city council voted unanimously to designate Council Member Sally Branson as representative and Council Member Mike Foreman as alternate to the Houston-Galveston Area Council 2018 General Assembly and Board of Directors.

The city council voted unanimously to approve moving supervision of the municipal court prosecutors from the administrative services department to the city attorney's office, as discussed in executive session.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint JoBeth Brizendine as a regular member and Benette Rowley and Madeline Short as alternate members to the Library Board.

The city council took no action regarding requiring additional protective measures for assisted senior living facilities.

The city council voted unanimously to approve pre-event disaster recovery contracts with Wendorf Beward & Partners, Tetra Tech, and Witt O'Brien.

The city council voted 4-2, with Jim Hill and John Scott opposed, to authorize the mayor to dedicate a soccer field within Centennial Park in recognition of the contributions of former mayor David Smith.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. Council Member Mike Foreman was absent. Agenda

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.