Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership GRCC
Galveston County
Santa Fe City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Friday, November 10, 2017

Santa Fe City Council on Thursday voted 4-1, with Ronald “Bubba” Jannett opposed, to cast 9 ballots in favor of electing Vaun Henry and 8 ballots in favor of electing Roney McCrary to the Galveston Central Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Local taxing authorities nominated nine candidates for the five-member board. David Moss, Clay Morrison, Scott Brast, Pierson and Kevin Corcoran, who currently serve on the board, were nominated for re-election, while Henry, Mary Trish Hanks, McCrary and Bruce Clawson were nominated as possible new members. Galveston County Tax Assessor-Collector Cheryl Johnson serves as an ex-officio member. Taxing entities in Galveston County may cast a number of ballots based on their percentage of the overall tax levy of the county.

The city council voted unanimously to approve, on first reading, an ordinance rezoning 12.202 acres of land located along the north side of 4th Street between Cark Street and Downey Street from a Neighborhood Commercial District to a Single Family Residential District.

The city council voted unanimously to authorize the submission of the FY2017 Chapter 59 Asset Forfeiture Reports by Law Enforcement Agency.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. All members were present. Agenda

During the meeting, the city council held discussion regarding the regulation of golf carts in the city.

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.