Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership GRCC
Galveston County
La Marque City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Tuesday, November 14, 2017

La Marque City Council on Monday voted unanimously to cast the city's 29 ballots in favor of electing Bruce Clawson to the Galveston Central Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Local taxing authorities nominated nine candidates for the five-member board. David Moss, Clay Morrison, Scott Brast, Pierson and Kevin Corcoran, who currently serve on the board, were nominated for re-election, while Vaun Henry, Mary Trish Hanks, Roney McCrary and Clawson were nominated as possible new members. Galveston County Tax Assessor-Collector Cheryl Johnson serves as an ex-officio member. Taxing entities in Galveston County may cast a number of ballots based on their percentage of the overall tax levy of the county.

The city council voted unanimously to ratify a settlement agreement with D. Grimm, Inc., in the amount of $22,500, related to the contractor-caused breakage of a 12-inch water line at the Texas-New Mexico Power substation site on FM 1764.

The city council heard a presentation from General Manager Alan Kuehl with Galveston County Drainage District No. 2 regarding drainage improvements and maintenance throughout the city.

No action was taken on the item. Listen (18:09)

The city council voted 4-1, with Keith Bell opposed, to award an $89,875 contract to LJA Engineering for services related to the repair/replacement of sanitary sewer main lines throughout identified areas of the city.

Bell said he supported the project, but had questions regarding LJA Engineering. Listen (3:28)

“In the past, there have been issues with this company,” Bell said. “Ms. (Carol) Buttler says that they have new management, or new personnel, and I trust that, but I have not had a chance to meet with her on that.”

He said he would not vote in favor of the item until he had his questions addressed.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint Jean Gutierrez to the Planning and Zoning Commission, reappoint Kathy Goodwin to the Keep La Marque Beautiful Board, and appoint Lois Jones to the Board of Adjustment.

The city council voted unanimously to accept a settlement in the matter of the City of La Marque vs. Texas Windstorm Insurance Association, related to windstorm damage from Hurricane Ike, as discussed in closed session.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. All members were present. Agenda

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.