Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Brazoria County
Brazoria County Commissioners Court
by Garrett Bryce
Thursday, November 16, 2017

Brazoria County Commissioners Court on Tuesday voted unanimously to cast the county's 893 ballots in favor of re-electing Susan Spoor to the Brazoria County Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Spoor is one of five candidates for the board. Tommy King, Rubye Jo Knight, Gail Robinson and Glenn Salyer, who also currently serve on the board, are seeking re-election. Brazoria County Tax Assessor-Collector Ro'Vin Garrett also serves on the board.

The commissioners court voted unanimously to adopt an order canvassing the results of the November 7 Constitutional Amendment Election.

The commissioners court voted unanimously to accept the resignation of Steve Hazelwood from the Brazoria-Fort Bend Rail District and appoint Earl Shipp to fill the vacant position.

The commissioners court voted unanimously to reappoint Dale Pillow to the Gulf Coast Workforce Board as literacy representative.

The commissioners court took no action regarding a subordination agreement and acknowledgment of lien position for Raymond H. Richardson's Benefield Subdivision, Staggs Road Assessment Lien. The item was pulled from the agenda.

The commissioners court voted unanimously to reject a bid for the State Highway 288 Truck Weigh Facility and to re-bid the project.

The county had received a single bid from Jerdon Enterprises, LP in the amount of $3,021,457.

The commissioners court voted unanimously to authorize the floodplain administrator to send flood risk notification letters to areas affected by Hurricane Harvey.

The commissioners court voted 3-0, with Judge Matt Sebesta and Commissioner Ryan Cade away from the table, to approve the minutes of the October 24 Commissioners Court meeting.

The commissioners court voted 2-0, with Sebesta, Cade and Commissioner Stacy Adams away, to approve the minutes of the October 30 meeting.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. All members were present. Agenda

To view a video of the meeting, Click Here

BayTran HomeTown Bank
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.