Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Jefferson County
Port Arthur City Council
by Garrett Bryce
Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Port Arthur City Council on Tuesday voted unanimously to cast the city's 177 ballots in favor of re-electing Dr. Louis Reed to the Jefferson County Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Reed currently serves on the board. Also nominated for re-election to the five-member board were Eugene Landry, Charles Lankford, Lauren Williams Mason and Jefferson County Tax Assessor-Collector Allison Nathan Getz.

The city council voted unanimously to remove from the agenda a contract for the management of the city's Pleasure Island RV Park. The item will be brought forward at a future meeting.

The city council voted unanimously to appoint Mary Lathan, Antoine Freeman, Morris Simon, Roosevelt Petry, Leslie McMahen and Dr. W. Sam Monroe as regular members and Bart Bragg and Charleen Commings as alternate members on the Historical Landmark Commission.

The city council voted unanimously to table action regarding the appointment of an interim city manager. Dr. Jimmie Johnson is currently serving as acting city manager following the resignation of City Manager Brian McDougal.

The city council voted unanimously to direct the city's Purchasing Department to solicit proposals from search firms to provide qualified candidates for the next city manager.

The city council voted unanimously to create the Port Arthur Hurricane Harvey Citizen Recovery Advisory Board.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. Council members Osman Swati and Harold Doucet were absent. Agenda

To view a video of the meeting, Click Here

Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.