Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Higher Education
Lamar University
News Release
Thursday, January 18, 2018

Lamar University seeks nominations for Distinguished Faculty Lecturer

Lamar University is seeking nominations for the 2018 honoree in the Distinguished Faculty Lecture Series, sponsored by ExxonMobil. LU faculty, staff, students, alumni, and retired faculty and staff are invited to nominate outstanding teacher/scholars for the award, which is now in its 32nd year.

Given that this honor is one that supports the Regents’ Professor application, no one may repeat this honor. February 28, 2018 is the deadline for nominations. Previous honorees are not eligible. The honor supports the prestigious Regents’ Professor application, and includes a $3,000 stipend. The 2018 recipient will be announced in May at a meeting of the Faculty Senate.

During the fall semester, on a date to be announced, the honoree will present a lecture to the Lamar Community and university guests in the University Theatre. The text of the lecture will be published and posted to the Faculty Senate website. Copies will be sent to the library at each institution in Texas State University System and to other universities throughout the United States.

Each nominee must be a full-time faculty member at Lamar University “who clearly expresses the university ideal of searching for knowledge through critical inquiry on his or her own discipline, and who supports and appreciates critical inquiry in the other disciplines of the university,” according to selection guidelines. Nominees must have completed one year of service and be currently teaching at least nine credit hours.

The DFL committee that selects the lecturer is composed of faculty members and representatives from the student body, staff, administration, alumni and faculty retirees. The entire university and general community are invited to nominate prospective lecturers, and the committee selects the honoree based on the professor’s proposed topic and on his/her professional background and recognized teaching/presentation skills.

Nominees may nominate themselves, but nominations must be submitted to Dr. Dorothy Sisk, Co-Chair, Distinguished Faculty Lecture Award Committee, by e-mail Additional information is available by phone at (409) 880-2316 or by the e-mail listed above.

The committee strongly encourages previous nominees for the lecture to consider submitting again to the selection committee. Many previous recipients of the award were faculty who were nominated multiple times before receiving the honor.

Remembering Jim Guidry M3 Global Medical Missions

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.