Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership GRCC
Galveston County
Galveston City Council Special Meeting
by John David Suayan with photos courtesy G-TV
Thursday, March 08, 2018

Galveston City Council, in a special meeting held today, voted 3-3, with Mayor Pro Tem Terrilyn Tarlton-Shannon, Frank Maceo, and Dr. Craig Brown opposed, on an ordinance canceling the election for May contests with unopposed candidates.

The motion, however, failed because it did not garner the four votes required. Mike Doherty was absent from the meeting.

Mayor Jim Yarbrough explained the item would have saved taxpayers nearly $8,000.

Frank Maceo said the cancellation of races with unopposed candidates went against the principles of the United States Constitution.

“The bottom line is, go out there and get a vote,” stated Maceo.

Those with unopposed seats in May included incumbents Yarbrough, Amy Bly in District 1 and Dr. Craig Brown in District 2, as well as Jason Hardcastle, who is unopposed to replace Doherty in May for District 4. Maceo has one challenger,
David Collins, in District 3, while four candidates, Jeff Antonelli, Chris Petrowski, John Paul Listowski, and Carol Hollaway have filed for the position Tarlton-Shannon holds in District 5. Carolyn Sunseri also has a challenger, Jackie Cole, for District 6.

Special Meeting Agenda Special Meeting Video

HomeTown Bank Ocean Star
Remembering Jim Guidry

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.