Skip Navigation Links
Front Page
About GNSExpand About GNS
CommunitiesExpand Communities
EducationExpand Education
Links Directory
Medicine & Science
Opinion/ForumExpand Opinion/Forum
Public Safety

Houston Maritime Museum
Harris County
Houston City Council
by Garrett Bryce w/photos courtesy City of Houston
Wednesday, July 11, 2018

Houston City Council today voted unanimously to reappoint Lex Frieden, Sanjay Ramabhadran, Troi Taylor and Carrin Patman, and appoint Teresa Morales to the Metropolitan Transit Authority of Harris County Board of Directors.

Morales replaces Christof Spieler on the board. Ramabhadran, Taylor, Patman and Morales were present at the meeting. Several council members praised their appointment to the board. Listen (22:20)

The city council voted unanimously to confirm the reappointment of Nicole B. Casarez, Janet T. Blancett, Stacey A. Mitchell and Sandra Guerra Thompson to the Houston Forensice Science Center, Inc.

The city council took no action regarding confirmation of the appointment or reappointment of members to the Reinvestment Zone No. 11 Board of Directors. The item was pulled from the agenda.

The city council voted unanimously to reappoint Alex Vassilakidis and Joseph Alan Johnston, Jr., and appoint Tharen K. Simpson and Bernardo Aldape, III to the Reinvestment Zone No. 15 Board of Directors.

The city council took no action regarding regarding an ordinance relating to the expansion of the capacity and mission of the Land Assemblage Redevelopment Authority, authorizing the change of the organization's name to the “Houston Land Bank.” The item was pulled from the agenda.

The city council voted 15-1, with Jack Christie opposed, to approve contracts with Deere & Company, Brookside Equipment Sales, Inc., and Silsbee Ford, Inc. for grounds maintenance equipment through an interlocal agreement through BuyBoard, in a total amount of $1,203,180.

Several items were tagged, or delayed for one week, by council members:

  • A $432,900 contract with Industrial TX Corps for replacement of aeration basin ceramic diffusers to membrane diffusers was tagged by Jerry Davis
  • An ordinance altering the speed limits in certain zones of the city was tagged by Brenda Stardig
  • An ordinance approving a $460,768 contract with, Inc. doing business as NEOGOV, was tagged by Greg Travis

The city council voted unanimously to nominate three members to the Houston Archaeological and Historical Commission Board of Directors.

Ann Collum was nominated by Robert Gallegos, Charles Stava by Karla Cisneros, and Dominic Yap by David Robinson.

All other items were approved by unanimous vote. Mayor Sylvester Turner was absent. Agenda

BayTran HomeTown Bank
Remembering Jim Guidry Bay Area Houston Economic Partnership M3 Global Medical Missions

Guidry News Service is headquartered in Midtown Houston.
at 4001 Fannin Street, Suite 4109, Houston, TX. 77004-4077
(409) 763 NEWS(6397)
© 1996, Guidry News Service. Duplication of any part of this website in any manner is prohibited.